On stage at Odenville Middle School
by Gary Hanner
Jun 22, 2012 | 1892 views |  0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Pictured is the entire cast of Willy Wonka. They are all Odenville Middle School students.
view slideshow (5 images)
Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka Jr., a timeless story of the world famous candy man and his quest to find an heir, came to life on stage at Odenville Middle School recently.

Willy Wonka/Candy Man, played by Jacob Cherry, owner of a magical and mysterious chocolate factory, invited the audience to join him in a world of “Pure Imagination.”

Although Wonka excels at making candy, he is ready to retire and find someone to take over the Golden Age of Chocolate.

After the five golden tickets were revealed, Charlie Bucket, played by Evan Seymour, ends up being the lucky winner. At the conclusion of the tour, Charlie ends up doing something remarkable — he thanks Wonka for the tour and admits to tasting the Fizzy Lifting Drink and breaking the rules.

Wonka reveals the tour was a test of character and only Charlie has succeeded. Wonka proclaims Charlie as his successor as Charlie’s family, Mr. and Mrs. Bucket, played by Cody Mealer and Jordan Ciniglio; Grandpa Joe, Garrett Hubbard; Grandma Josephina, Destiny Ragsdale; Grandpa George, Gabe Downing; and Grandma Georgina, Laura Kahn, joins them at the factory.

Tammy Williams, drama teacher and director at OMS said the students had a great time preparing for Willy Wonka Jr.

“They did a good job with the play,” Williams said. “The parents made it all worthwhile with their standing ovation at the finale.”

Listed below are members of the cast.

Willy Wonka/Candy Man, Jacob Cherry; Charlie Bucket, Evan Seymour; Mr. Bucket, Cody Mealer; Mrs. Bucket, Jordan Ciniglio; Grandpa Joe, Garrett Hubbard; Grandma Josephina, Destiny Ragsdale; Grandpa George, Gabe Downing; Grandma Georgina, Laura Khan; Augustus Gloop, Hunter Armstrong; Mrs. Gloop, Courtney Russell; Veruca Salt, McKenzie Bray; Mr. Salt, Justin Rainwater; Violet Beauregard, Beth Salser; Mrs. Beauregard, Kendrel Clark; Mike Teavee, Hunter Ladd; Ms. Teavee, Destiny Nowlin; Phineous Trout, Jeremy Mooney; Matilda, Molly Moon; Jamie, Ashley Williams.

The Oompa Loompas were Haley Ugolini, Cade Ambrosius, Anakate Andrasko and Amelia Holifield.

The Squirrels were Megan Davis, Kaila Price, Lexi Widner, Caleb Martin, Lexi Shore, Gabbi Shore, Dakota Dorsett and Megan Frazier.

The Oompa Loompa Kids were Lacey Young, Ashley Williams, Allison Thomas, Sabrina Carruba, Jayla Bibbs, Selena Boshell, Haley Howard, Jordan Holland, Catherine Barnett, Raymond Davis, Melody Etheridge, Mandy Lathem, Sydney Thompson, Emily Simpson, Kaitlyn Fugatt, Molly Moon, Claire Lovejoy, Hannah Williams and Renae Eason.

Helping Williams were her assistant director Grant Simpson; stage manager Macy Moon; music director Lisa Higginbotham; choreographer and scene designer Carolyn Marrs; costumes Sandi Mealer; chocolate factory interior designers Wes and Annette Bray; sound and engineering Zac Tipton and Grant Simpson; lighting Garner McBride; and back stage helpers Angela Holifield, Amber Mealer, Sandi Mealer, and Lisa Salser.

Contact Gary Hanner at ghanner@thestclairtimes.com.

Post Your Stuff