Moody boys upend Springville in Jr. High title game
by Gary Hanner
Jan 22, 2010 | 2714 views |  0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Moody’s Josh Morgan was named MVP.
view slideshow (9 images)
The Moody Blue Devils won the 2010 St. Clair County Jr. High Basketball Tournament last week at Steele. Moody defeated Springville 46-30 in the title game.

Ragland 31, Ashville 19

After losing to Ashville by one point the last time they played, Ragland was ready to play in the first round of the tournament. They got off to a fast start and never allowed the Bulldogs to get into any rhythm and they defeated Ashville 31-19.

The Purple Devils led 5-0 and then 10-0 before Ashville’s EJ Moss scored with three seconds left in the first quarter to make the score 10-2.

Ragland’s lead grew to 17-4 by halftime and 25-6 after three quarters of play.

Ashville outscored Ragland 13-6 in the fourth quarter but it was not enough as Ragland went on to win 31-19.

Seven Ragland players scored and leading the way was KiJana Lindsay with 14 points. Jacob Brewster netted 5 points while twin brother Jaylan Brewster added 4 points. Blake Jones contributed 3 points while Keshan Killings and Kelton Killings scored 2 points each. Christian Morrow added 1 point.

Leading Ashville was Moss with 12 points. Whitfield Burttram scored 6 points while Jamie Boissel had 1 point.

Springville 34, Odenville 29

The Tigers earned the right to play in the championship game beating Odenville 34-29. Springville led from stat to finish as they were up 10-7 after the first quarter and 16-10 at intermission.

The Tigers stretched their lead to 21-12 after three quarters of play and hit key free throws down the stretch to win the game 34-29.

Jacob Wallace led Springville with 11 points. Jason Swope pumped in 8 points while Jake Tribble scored 6 points. Riley Phillips netted 4 points while Aaron Waddy contributed 3 points. Ingram Goolsby scored 2 points.

Leading the Saints was Marteze Jones with 10 points. Matt Hicks scored 8 points while Kendall Patton pumped in 7 points Terrence Taylor and Dalton Taylor finished the game with 2 points each.

Moody 58, Ragland 32

Top-seeded Moody defeated Ragland 58-32 to move to the championship round. The Blue Devils led 13-9 after the first quarter and opened up a 27-17 halftime lead.

Moody scored the first 8 points of the third quarter to open up a 35-17 lead. By the end of the third period, Moody’s lead was 43-23. They went on to win 58-32.

Leading the Blue Devils was Josh Morgan with 13 points. Michael Barron pumped in 10 points while Andrew Murray and Dee Williams scored 9 points each. Isaac Vacheresse totaled 6 points while Kenny Dizaar chipped in 5 points. Doug Barnes and DeVonte Vandergrift scored 2 points each.

Kelton Killings, Lindsay and Jacob Brewster scored 6 points each to lead Ragland. Alex Thornton pumped in 4 points while Levi Campbell and Jaylan Brewster netted 3 points each. Alex McClendon and Jones had 2 points each.

Moody 46, Springville 30

In the title game, the Blue Devils outscored Springville 20-9 in the fourth quarter to win 46-30.

Moody led 10-2 early in the first quarter but Springville went on a 7-0 run to cut the lead to 10-9. By the end of the first quarter, Moody’s lead was 12-9.

The two teams battled back and forth in the second frame and by halftime, Moody led 18-16.

The Blue Devils were up 26-21 after three quarters of play and then hit free throws down the stretch to win the game 46-30.

Morgan pumped in 14 points to lead Moody. Williams and Vacheresse netted 12 points each while Barron contributed 8 points.

With the win, Moody improved to 20-2 on the season.

Leading the Tigers was Swope with 17 points. DeAndre Woody netted 3 points while Wallace, Phillips and Tribble scored 2 points each. Waddy scored 1 point.

Moody’s Josh Morgan was named the tournament MVP. Also making the All-County Team were Isaac Vacheresse, Dee Williams and Michael Barron from Moody; Jason Swope, DeAndre Woody and Riley Phillips form Springville; KiJana Lindsay and Jaylan Brewster from Ragland; Matt Hicks and Kendall Patton from Odenville; Troy Owens from Steele; and EJ Moss from Ashville.

Post Your Stuff